Search
Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us

LINE UP ANNOUNCED FOR FRENCH IMPRESSIONISM NGV FRIDAY NIGHTS

Eilish Gilligan

In celebration of the Melbourne Winter Masterpieces blockbuster exhibition French Impressionism from the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, NGV Friday Nights returns in 2021 with a line-up of fresh Melbourne music talent, DJ sets and French-inspired bars and dining.

Every Friday evening from 4 June – 1 October at NGV International, visitors can enjoy sets by local pop, rock and indie musicians and DJs including contemporary soul-pop singer Akosia, pop rock soloist Ali Barter, singer-songwriter Alice Ivy, indie folk band Husky, world-class saxophonist Solomon Sisay, Eilish Gilligan (who today launched her new single, “Up All Night”) and more.

NGV Friday Nights full line-up:

Friday 4 June Eilish Gilligan

Friday 11 June Solomon Sisay

Friday 18 June Alice Ivy

Friday 25 June Squid Nebula

Friday 2 July GL

Friday 9 July Husky

Friday 16 July Bananagun

Friday 23 July Squid Nebula

Friday 30 July Alice Ivy

Friday 6 August Eilish Gilligan

Friday 13 August Eternal Crush

Friday 20 August Akosia

Friday 27 August Ali Barter

Friday 3 September Bananagun

Friday 10 September Solomon Sisay

Friday 17 September Akosia

Friday 24 September Ali Barter

Friday 1 October Olympia

“Late-night access to French Impressionism from the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston offers Melburnians a French style escape during the heart of winter with an impressive line-up of live music performances, DJs and French-inspired dining. With this NGV Friday Nights series we are proud to be supporting Melbourne’s live music scene and the local talents this great city has to offer,” said Tony Ellwood AM, Director, National Gallery of Victoria.

Throughout the evening Gallery visitors can enjoy a selection of cuisine and drinks referencing the French origins of the exhibition including pommes frites, duck and cherry parfait and croque monsieur.

The Yering Station bar will greet visitors on arrival in Federation Court where they can delight in fine wines from the Yarra Valley or enjoy a unique wine-tasting experience. In the Great Hall, the illuminated Asahi Bar will offer drinks and a bar menu of delicious oysters, fromage and charcuterie platters. At the Pommery Champagne Bar, visitors can explore a selection of Pommery Cuvées throughout the evening.

The NGV Friday Nights series coincides with the internationally exclusive exhibition French Impressionism from the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston presenting more than 100 works of Impressionist paintings including 79 works that have never before been seen in Australia by artists including Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Edgar Degas, Camille Pissarro, Mary Cassatt and more.

NGV Friday Nights will run from 4 June to 1 October 2021 at NGV International, St Kilda Rd, Melbourne. Further information and tickets are available via the NGV website.

Share this

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn