Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us


The official musical accompaniment for ‘Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story’ will be released on August 11 – the day after the documentary has its world premiere at Melbourne International Film Festival on August 10.

The soundtrack features Mushroom classics, rarities and forgotten gems, showcasing the songs that shaped Australia’s largest independent music company, Mushroom.

What is a film without the music to accompany the story – and this story is all about the music!

Featuring 33 acts, the album contains 44 tracks featured in Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story, the definitive account of Michael Gudinski’s life and a rare look behind the curtain of Australia’s seminal music company – the Mushroom Group. Famed for his eccentricities and boldness, the film dives into the psyche and unorthodox tactics of Michael as he became the frontman of a cultural movement and built a music empire whose artists created the soundtrack for a nation.

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story | Official Trailer

Featuring songs from the last five decades including Jimmy Barnes, Kylie Minogue, Archie Roach, Hunters & Collectors through to Vance Joy, Bliss N Eso, Gordi and DMA’S. The collection is all Australian, apart from two of Michael Gudinski’s favourite international acts: Garbage (who had a #1 UK album for Mushroom Records in 1998) and Ed Sheeran (who became the first artist to sell one million tickets on one Australian tour when he toured for Michael Gudinski’s Frontier Touring in 2018).

These are the songs that tell the remarkable story of Australian music over the past five decades. This is the ultimate Mushroom mixtape, celebrating 50 years of making noise.

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story – Music From the Feature Documentary will be released on August 11.

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story will be released in cinemas nationwide on August 31.

For more information visit

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story – Music From The Feature Documentary

Out Fri 11 August through Bloodlines

 Pre-order  here

Disc One

Models – I Hear Motion
Daddy Cool – Come Back Again
Matt Taylor – I Remember When I Was Young
Billy Thorpe & The Aztecs – Most People I Know (Think That I’m Crazy) – Live from Sunbury
Madder Lake – 12lb Toothbrush
Skyhooks – Living in the 70’s
Skyhooks – Love’s Not Good Enough
Skyhooks – Horror Movie
Skyhooks – Ego (Is Not A Dirty Word)
Jo Jo Zep & The Falcons – Hit & Run
The Swingers – Counting The Beat
The Sports – Who Listens To The Radio
The Angels – Take A Long Line (Live)
Hunters & Collectors – The Slab
Hunters & Collectors – Throw Your Arms Around Me

Disc Two

Hunters & Collectors- Talking To A Stranger
Paul Kelly – From St Kilda To Kings Cross
Stars – Last Of The Riverboats
Jimmy Barnes – I’d Die To Be With You Tonight
Jimmy Barnes – No Second Prize
Leonardo’s Bride – Even When I’m Sleeping
Machinations – Pressure Sway
Kylie Minogue – The Loco-Motion
Kylie Minogue – I Should Be So Lucky
Archie Roach – Took The Children Away
Yothu Yindi – Treaty (Radio Mix)
Deborah Conway – It’s Only The Beginning
Garbage – Only Happy When It Rains
Peter Andre – Mysterious Girl

Disc Three

Cold Chisel – My Turn To Cry
Renee Geyer – Heading In The Right Direction (Live)
Bliss n Eso – Addicted
Kylie Minogue – Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition
Youth Group – Forever Young
Vance Joy – Riptide
Ed Sheeran – The A Team
Ben Lee – We’re All In This Together
DMA’S – The Glow
The Church – Under The Milky Way
Gordi – Extraordinary Life
Yothu Yindi – Djapana (Sunset Dreaming) (Radio Mix)
Hunters & Collectors – Do You See What I See?
Hunters & Collectors – Say Goodbye

Share this