Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us


Mumbai based musical prodigy Mohini Dey first picked up the bass at age three and was playing professionally by age ten. She has since developed into one of the most accomplished bass players in the world, sharing the stage with luminaries such as Steve Vai, Stu Hamm, Tony McAlpine and more.

Mohini Dey is excited to announce that she is finally releasing her debut album on the 18th of August 2023. The self-titled debut features international legendary musicians such as Simon Phillips, Narada Michael Walden, Guthrie Govan, Marco Minneman,Scott Kinsey, Ron “Thal” Bumblefoot, Gergo Borlai, Mike Gotthard, Daniel Szebenyi, Mark Hartsuch, as well as Indian musicians Gino Banks, Rhythm Shaw and Nishant Hagjer.

The project is special to Mohini, not only because it is her first album but also because it is a reflection on all of the musical experiences she has had in her 18 years working professionally in the music industry. “My successes, my failures, and my personal life explorations are baked into these 9 tracks. I have experienced so much in my 27 years of life yet there is so much more to accomplish,” she said of the album release.

The album not only showcases Mohini’s impeccable musical chops but also demonstrates an ability to compose beautiful melodies within the intricate and complex musical arrangements.

Australian Musician editor Greg Phillips, who first met Mohini at the 2018 NAMM Show was pleased to catch up with the bass great again via zoom call to chat about the creation of her debut album.

The album is available on Bandcamp now

Here’s the Distrokid link for when it releases on August 18th, 2023


Track Listing
1 · In-N-Out
2 · Introverted Soul
3 · Bombay Bong
4 · Meat Eater
5 · Coloured Goddess
6 · First Food Then You
7 · Kick’B’ass
8 · Emotion
9 · Happy To Slap It

Share this