Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us


Australia’s first real country rock flavoured band Stars formed in Adelaide in the mid 70s and moved to Melbourne, Australia’s music metropolis where they were signed to Mushroom Records. Their debut album Paradise was released in 1977 and delivered several hit singles including Mighty Rock, Look After Yourself and Back Again, generating national airplay and appearances on the  very influential music TV show Countdown.

The new ‘Paradise Revisted’ live album

After just one more studio album ‘Land of Fortune’, and just a few years of performing, Stars called it a day in 1979, with a final concert recorded at Bombay Rock (which was released as the live album “1157”). Sadly, the band’s rhythm guitarist and main songwriter Andy Durant was diagnosed with cancer soon after and died in 1980 at the age of just 25.

In  what has become part of Australian music folklore, an incredible tribute, the “Andrew Durant Memorial Concert” was staged at the Palais Theatre in St Kilda in 1980, featuring the members of Stars, Renee Geyer, Jimmy Barnes, Ian Moss, Don Walker, Richard Clapton and many more of the cream of Australian artists who are still recording and playing to this day, a live recording of the show was released to much acclaim and promptly went gold.

After over 35 years Stars returned with the original line up featuring Mick Pealing on vocals and guitar, Mal Eastick on guitar, Roger McLachlan on bass and Glyn Dowding who was replaced by Erik Chess early 2019 on drums and featuring Nick Charles on guitar.

A new album “Boundary Rider” was released in 2018 mainly written by Mick & Nick with 3 early Stars songs recorded in the studio for the first time. 2020 brought yet another new album “One More Circle Round The Sun” featuring new songs written by Mick Pealing and Nick Charles.

Early 2023 brought about the retirement from Stars, founder of the band Mal Eastick who was replaced by Australian blues guitarist Geoff Achison along with legendary pedal steel player Ed Bates. A new single (One More Try) was released around this time.

In February 2024, the new version of STARS, featuring Mick Pealing (vocals), Roger McLachlan (bass), Nick Charles (guitars), Geoff Achison (lead guitar), Ed Bates (pedal steel) and Erik Chess (drums) performed and recorded the entire debut album, Paradise in front of a live audience at Empire Music Studios in Heidelberg. The new live album, Paradise Revisited is now available at

Australian Musician editor Greg Phillips sat down with Stars frontman Mick Pealing and Bassist Roger McLachlan at Empire Studios in Heidelberg to discuss the origins of the original Paradise album and the concept of re-recording it live as Paradise Revisited.

Thanks to Jason Rosewarne for the photos and video assistance and to Paul Higgins and Trevor Carter at Empire Music Studios for their hospitality. Any artist considering recording at Empire can contact Paul Higgins at or phone 0412686252

Stars are about to embark on a fabulous regional tour in May under the moniker of Heritage Legends featuring Stars, Chain and The Bushwackers.

Share this