Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us


Grammy-winning Guatemala born, US based folk singer Gaby Moreno returns to Australia for the first time since 2019 to appear at Womadelaide and play some other dates.

Gaby’s music is a seamless blend of folk, soul and blues delivered in both English Spanish, and French and Portuguese. Among Gaby’s many achievements are: writing the theme song for Parks in Recreation, singing the theme song for the Disney series Elena Of Avalor and voicing an animated character for the show, has performed, toured or recorded with the likes of Bono (U2), Andrea Bocelli, actor/singer Oscar Isaac, Ben Folds, Ricardo Arjona, Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings, and she is a wonderful ambassador for UNICEF.

Gaby’s current album ‘Spangled’ is a collaboration with legendary musician/arranger Van Dyke Parks and is a multilingual collection of songs celebrating migration across the Americas and features a duet with the legendary Jackson Browne.

Gaby has more recently released a new single Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow from a soon to be released new album of original material. She also wrote the soundtrack for the acclaimed movie Language Lessons, and as she reveals exclusively for Australian Musician in our interview, she also appears in Guillermo del Toro’s upcoming Netflix series Cabinet of Curiosities (initially called 10 After Midnight), in which she performs a song.

Australian Musician editor caught up with Gaby Moreno to discuss her 2022 Australian tour, appearance at Womadelaide and what’s she’s been up to during the pandemic. She also gives us the scoop on her appearance in Guillermo del Toro’s upcoming Netflix series.

WOMADELAIDE, 11-14 March, Botanic Park, Adelaide, South Australia
For information and tickets visit:

The list of Womadelaide artists in second announcement:

• A.B. Original
• Adelaide Symphony Orchestra – Silence
• AROHA – DJ set
• Asteroid Ekosystem
• Ausecuma Beats
• Australian Art Orchestra – Hand to Earth
• Azymuth & Marcos Valle
• Bullhorn
• Bush Gothic
• Carla Lippis’ Mondo Psycho
• The Cat Empire – final SA show of the original line-up
• Cedric Burnside (USA)
• Chikchika
• Dhungala Baarka
• Elephant Sessions (Scotland)
• Elsy Wameyo
• The Empty Threats
• Farhan Shah & Sufi-Oz
• Floating Points (UK) – DJ set
• Gaby Moreno (USA)
• Glass Beams
• Gordon Koang
• Jayda G (CAN) – DJ set
• Jerome Farah
• Joseph Tawadros & James Tawadros (duo show)
• Joseph Tawadros with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
• Karen Lee Andrews
• L.A.B (NZ)
• Luluc
• Makepisi
• Sokel
• Sonz of Serpent
• Springtime
• Taikoz
• Te Tangi O Te Ka’ara
• Tijuana Cartel
• Tio (Vanuatu)
• Troy Kingi (NZ)
• Victor Martinez Parada
• Yé-Yé 2.0

Artists announced on 11 Nov –
• Baker Boy
• Balkan Ethno Orchestra
• Barkaa
• Courtney Barnett
• The Crooked Fiddle Band
• Dancenorth – NOISE
• Eishan Ensemble
• El Gran Mono
• Electric Fields
• Emma Donovan & The Putbacks
• Goanna
• Grace Barbé
• Haiku Hands
• High Ace
• Inner City (Live) (USA)
• King Stingray
• Kutcha Edwards
• Martinez Akustica
• Melbourne Ska Orchestra
• Motez (Live)
• The New Monos
• Parvyn
• Paul Kelly
• Reb Fountain (NZ)
• Danse Carpe Diem/Emmanuel Jouthe, Maï(g)wenn et lesOrteils & Restless Dance Theatre – Écoute Pour Voir (Listen to See)
• The Shaolin Afronauts
• Sorong Samarai
• Valanga Khoza
• YID!

Share this