Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us



After months of anticipation and speculation QMusic today announce the full list of finalists for the 2015 Queensland Music Awards. More than 40 judges from across the country and internationally listened to hundreds of song and video entries from artists all over Queensland.  Entries were received from every corner of the state – from Cooktown, Cairns, Innisfail, Townsville, Rockhampton, Ipswich, Toowoomba, Mackay, Moura, Tarzali, Kingaroy, Gayndah and Gladstone.

QMusic’s Executive Officer Joel Edmondson said, “The diversity of musical talent from metropolitan and regional Queensland always amazes our QMA judges. Queensland’s almost endless supply of gifted musicians ensures that the awards event is exciting and fresh every year. The awards night gives you an experience of the infectious sense of community at the core of Queensland’s vibrant and thriving music scene.”

One of the most memorable nights on the Queensland music industry calendar, the winners across 21 categories and the Billy Thorpe Scholarship winner will be crowned at the 2015 awards night taking place at new venue, the Brisbane Powerhouse Theatre on March 30.

The 2015 awards ceremony will be hosted by triple j’s Sarah Howells and Hip Hop veteran Fred Leone aka Rival MC from Impossible Odds Records.

The Queensland Music Awards has always showcased the excellence and diversity that Queensland music has to offer.  Performances at this year’s awards night will feature 4x ARIA Award winner Katie Noonan performing a remix of her new track ‘Peace Is My Drug’ alongside Brisbane wunderkind producer cln.

The ethereal vocals and lush electronics of Airling will be sure to woo the crowd.  Tjupurru and the Bulldawadda will perform their exciting blend of traditional and contemporary sounds. Blank Realm will carve up the stage. AIR country album of the year winners Halfway will deliver a song from their critically acclaimed album Any Old Love.  MKO will be hitting the stage after a massive 2014 with a new single.  Showcasing her percussive folk, rising songstress Sahara Beck will delight with an original tune, while local favourite We All Want To round out the fantastic night of music and celebration!

Limited tickets to the Queensland Music Awards go on sale today through the Brisbane Powerhouse box office. Head to

March 30 | The Brisbane Powerhouse


Geronimo Sheppard Brisbane
Wasted Pilots Airling Brisbane
Try Your Luck Mosman Alder Brisbane
Zen Eves The Behavior Brisbane
Holiday Home The Grates Brisbane
Common Thread The John Steel Singers Brisbane
Reflective Skull DZ Deathrays Brisbane
Dropout Halfway Brisbane
Visions Collide DUBARRAY Mooloolaba
The Liquid Casket Lawrence English Brisbane
Arcadia The Kite String Tangle Brisbane
Short Term Plan Michelle Xen Brisbane
Penny Emma Bosworth Brisbane
Bearing The Crown Leanne Tennant Cairns
The World Don’t Owe You Nothin’ Pat Tierney Brisbane
Tell Me Why The Bella Reunion Brisbane
Numbers Guards of May Brisbane
The Sacrifice Tria Mera Brisbane
This Is The End A Breach Of Silence Brisbane
Give it Up Drawcard Maroochy river
Korona Tjupurru Brisbane
Leaden Heart Lizzie O’Keefe Sunshine Coast
The Promise of Postcards Rafael Karlen Brisbane
Closing Time Kylie Southwell Brisbane
Sapphire Eyes Fionn Richards Brisbane
Mr Blue Moon Year 10 – Brisbane Girls Grammar School Brisbane
Days Of Doom SASKIA Brisbane
Crush on Candy Dean Brady Cairns
Wake Up The Medics Brisbane
Sunday Robbie Miller Brisbane
They Call It King Social Townsville
I Miss You Every Time I See You Autumn & Fall Brisbane

QMusic and Arts Queensland will also be announcing the winning recipient of the Billy Thorpe Scholarship for 2015 at the awards ceremony.  The four finalists in the running are; Babaganouj, Ayla Scanlan, Moses Gunn Collective and Sahara Beck.

As always music fans around Australia will have a chance to vote for their favourite Queensland artists by casting their vote in the BOQ People’s Choice Awards, opening Round 1 voting on Monday 23 February. Categories will include the BOQ Award for; Most Popular Female, Most Popular Male and Most Popular Group, votes to be cast online via the Queensland Music Awards website.

Share this