Close this search box.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our weekly
e-newsletter for news and updates

Advertise with us


The She Rocks Awards has become one of the most anticipated events on the the annual NAMM Show calendar. Now in its 7th year, it kicked off with the traditional red carpet parade, where Australian Musician was pleased to be able to chat with a few of the talented artists on this year’s bill. Inside the House of Blues, official proceedings were launched by young Irish duo Rews, who are currently on their debut tour of America.

An early highlight included a special performance by GRAMMY-nominated saxophone player Mindi Abair, who played her tongue in cheek track Not Bad For A Girl. Soon after Gigi Rich (The Voice) and vocalist Aiza showcased songs from the upcoming original girl empowerment album, Girl, the Album.

The gala celebration featured a star-studded array of honourees that include Terri Nunn of Berlin, Lisa Loeb and Nita Strauss (who was presented with her award by Steve Vai) , as well many other women from all corners of the music and audio industry.

Other highlights included guitarist Nita Strauss performing Queen’s “The Show Must Go On,” and Lisa Loeb performing her #1 song “Stay,” which was featured on the Reality Bites soundtrack, with the young and dynamic Command Sisters.  Terri Nunn, celebrating Berlin’s 40th Anniversary this year, performed her ‘80s breakthrough smash hit “Metro,” accompanied by Berlin keyboardist, Dave Schulz and the She Rocks House Band, Rock Sugah led by Divinity Roxx.  Laura Clapp performed the Macy Gray GRAMMY-Award winning hit, “I Try,” and Erika Ender performed her own version of the #1 hit she co-wrote, “Despacito.”

In addition, a Hall of Fame award was introduced this year by honouring Janis Joplin. Following an inspiring speech by Joplin’s sister, Laura Joplin, a medley of the late singer’s hits, “Me and Bobby McGee,” “Piece of My Heart,” and “Raise Your Hand” were performed by Orianthi, Vanessa Amorosi, Judith Hill, Emily Armstrong, Sarah Command, Mindi Abair and Rock Sugah, making for an electrifying finale.

The full list of 2019 honourees includes:

•Terri Nunn, lead singer of the iconic electro-pop band, BERLIN

•Macy Gray, GRAMMY Award-winning singer, songwriter, producer and actress

•Lisa Loeb, Platinum-selling, GRAMMY Award-winning singer songwriter, touring artist and author

•Nita Strauss, acclaimed solo artist and guitarist for Alice Cooper

•Erika Ender, award-winning and chart topping composer, singer, co-writer of the hit “Despacito”

•Dana DuFine, VP Global Content and development AEG Facilities

•Dale Krevens, vice president of Tech 21

•Lynette Sage, art director of Reverb

•Samantha Pink, director of business operations at JAM industries USA

•Terri Winston, executive director, Women’s Audio Mission

•Janet Bill Rich, Manage This Media

•Bonnie Gallanter, co-producer of the She Rocks Awards and owner of Muse Artist Management


Share this