Blog

MUSICIANS IN ISOLATION: THE MCCLYMONTS


Australian country rock royalty The McClymonts have today released Mayhem to Madness, their 6th studio album. The album and particularly the current single I Got This focus on the juggling lifestyle that is motherhood, with the added element of being on the road at the same time. And that’s without placing the complications of covid -19 into the mix, the album was named pre-coronavirus.

Australian Musician’s Greg Phillips caught up with Brooke and Samantha McClymont via Skype to chat about life in lockdown, the creation of the album and the gear they use to make their music.

Mayhem to Madness is now available to pre-order from here. The 10-track album will be released on CD, digital format and as a first for The McClymonts, available in vinyl format.

Teaming up with Newcastle based director Bradley Murnane, the ‘I Got This’ video was filmed early March near Cessnock NSW. Bradley previously directed video clips for artists such as Gretta Ray, Ainslie Wills and Vera Blue. The reception has been nothing but positive for ‘I Got This’ even claiming The McClymonts the highest ever debut of a new single on the Australian Country Hot 50 Airplay Chart, charting at #9.

Mayhem to Madness was co-written by Brooke, Sam & Mollie McClymont with additional credits from Lindsay Rimes, Phil Barton, Robby De Sa, Georgi Kay, Jennifer Hanson, Alexandra Hosking, Whakaio Taahi, Lindsey Jackson and Andy Mak who produced the album and co-wrote “I Got This”. Included on the album is a cover of Fleetwood Mac’s, ‘Little Lies’.

TRACKLISTING FOR MAYHEM TO MADNESS
1.     Part Time Phase
2.     I Got This
3.     Free Fall
4.     Looking for Perfect
5.     Open Heart
6.     Lighthouse Home
7.     Little Lies
8.     Good Advice
9.     Wish You Hell
10.   Backfired

Regarding their live performances, The McClymonts took to their socials to news of the rescheduling of a number of dates to their highly anticipated ‘Mayhem To Madness’ Tour. Shows originally schedule for May to August have been moved to take place from September onwards. This is the bands biggest tour in three years.
The McClymonts have enjoyed incredible success since the release of their debut EP in 2006 with over 250,000 album sales and 20 million track streams. They have achieved one Platinum and two Gold album sales accreditations and received thirteen Golden Guitar Awards, two ARIA Awards and an APRA Award all whilst becoming one of Australia’s favourite touring groups.

Just announced, join The McClymonts for a Facebook Livestream 6PM AEST, SATURDAY JUNE 13

THE McCLYMONTS 2020 TOUR
PRESENTED BY KIX COUNTRY & CMC
***NEW TOUR DATES***
Tickets on-sale now from www.themcclymonts.net.au/tour

Fri 4 Sep – Goulburn Workers Club – Goulburn, NSW
Sat 5 Sep – Blacktown Workers Club –  Blacktown, NSW
Fri 11 Sept – Old Mill Hotel – Hahndorf, SA
Fri 18 Sept – The Doylo – Doyalson, NSW
Sat 19 Sept – Big Country Festival – Berry, NSW
Fri 9 Oct – Mounties – Mount Pritchard, NSW
Sat 10 Oct – Wests New Lambton – Newcastle, NSW
Fri 23 Oct – C.EX Coffs Harbour – Coffs Harbour, NSW
Sat 24 Oct – Twin Towns Services Club – Tweed Heads, NSW
Fri 30 Oct – Cessnock Leagues Club – Cessnock, NSW
Sat 31 Oct – Wests Diggers, Nelson Bay – Nelson Bay, NSW
Fri 6 Nov – Southern Cross Club, Woden – Canberra, ACT
Sat 7 Nov – The Cube – Campbelltown, NSW
Fri 13 Nov – Caloundra RSL – Caloundra, QLD
Sat 14 Nov – Kedron Wavell Services Club – Chermside, QLD
Fri 20 Nov – York on Lilydale – Mount Evelyn, VIC
Sat 21 Nov – Latrobe Performing Arts Centre, Town Hall – Traralgon, VIC
Fri 27 Nov – Launceston Country Club – Launceston, TAS
Sat 28 Nov – Burnie Town Hall – Burnie, TAS
Fri 4 Dec – Dalyrmple Hotel – Townsville, QLD
Sat 5 Dec – Brothers Leagues Club – Cairns, QLD
Fri 11 Dec – Gateway Hotel – Corio, VIC
Sat 12 Dec – Chelsea Heights Hotel – Chelsea Heights, VIC
Fri 8 Jan -Wagga Civic Theatre – Wagga Wagga, NSW
Sat 9 Jan – Albury Commercial Club – Albury, NSW
Fri 29 Jan – Ulumbarra Theatre – Bendigo, VIC
Sat 30 Jan – Ballarat Civic Hall – Ballarat, VIC

THE McCLYMONTS
Mayhem To Madness LP OUT NOW